new partner

Please visit this area and participate in various diffrent topics of discussion.
alison

new partner

Post by alison » Sat May 27, 2006 6:07 pm

This is my first time and im not quite sure how to word it but here goes. I have recently met a man who has been diagnosed with PTSD. He was fine the first couple of dates but has since been very quiet and distant. I have tried to read as much as I can about it to try and understand. I am really falling for this guy and want to help but dont know how. Can anyone help?
Dagger X-Ray
Good Soldiers Never Die
Your Gulf War Unit: 2nd Brigade 1st Infantry Division

Post by Dagger X-Ray » Wed May 31, 2006 11:02 am

You can do 1 of 2 things.

You can either run away so you don't have to deal with another persons feelings, a person who has probably been through more than you can imagine, seen things you would never want to see, and/or experienced more than anyone you have ever known.

OR

You can be his friend. Be a shoulder for him to lean on, an ear for him to talk to. READ READ READ more and more on this forum and others like it. Learn to understand what he is dealing with. Read up on PTSD and see if you can talk with family members of others who suffer from it. Check with your local VA to see if they offer any classes or semiinars on PTSD. Just do yourself and him a favor and DON'T EVER MAKE FUN OF HIM OR HIS EMOTIONS, HIS QUIETNESS, HIS "TO-HIMSELF". Don't ask him things like "so what’s wrong with you now"? Offer to accompany him if when he visits the VA, ask him if he ever wants to talk about what’s bothering him and that you are ready to listen to him about it whenever he wants, that you might not understand what he is talking about but you want to, you want him to explain it if he can or if he wants. He needs to talk and I encourage him to talk on forums just like this one.