ptsd

Please visit this area and participate in various diffrent topics of discussion.
saudivet5
Recruit
Your Gulf War Unit: Please add your Unit

ptsd

Post by saudivet5 » Wed Oct 22, 2008 10:17 pm

hi I was just wondering. i am new at this whole ptsd thing i was diagnosed and just got service connected for it but it gave me mixed feelings and was wondering if anyone else has felt this way .I had to clean up basrah highway it was terrible i have told you guys all this before but since my service connection i have felt very guilty about things it feels like blood money and thinking about back then is making me feel afraid to even go outside i dont feel safe. like stepping out of my safety zone . i have aggoraphobia as well but is this part of my ptsd and do you think it will pass? :cry:
"Upon closing eyes, I see demons instead of angels"
Dagger X-Ray
Good Soldiers Never Die
Your Gulf War Unit: 2nd Brigade 1st Infantry Division

Re: ptsd

Post by Dagger X-Ray » Thu Oct 23, 2008 9:29 am

I do not think it will ever pass but it will get easier to deal with. I was in that area also, when the cease fire went into effect, my unit was setup only about 1/8 of a mile away from that whole mess you had to clean up. We could feel the death in the air. I saw only a small part of it and that was enough for me. That part bothers me only a small amount, its the incident where I was prevented from being able to call in a dust-off for 2 soldiers who got tangled up with some DPICm rounds. One of them died and even though I could not have prevented it, I still feel tons of guilt over it...guilt I cannot get rid of. It wasn't until November 29, 2005 that I finally learned this soldiers name and that was it. It messed me up even more but over time I have learned to cope with it, I tell myself constantly that there was nothing I could do to help him. If you are not already talking with thge VA Mental Health people, you need to ask your VA PCP to refer you over.